KKR Team in 2022 IPL

Triple Your Money Deposit ₹2000 Play With ₹6000

Use code
Code copied
Join Now

Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the most popular Indian T20 cricket teams. The home ground of the KKR is the famed Eden Gardens stadium — one of the largest and the oldest cricket stadiums in India.

Made famous by the celebrity KKR owner Shah Rukh Khan and his partners Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla, the team has retained its renown with a 51.67% overall winning percentage in the IPL.

With the upcoming IPL 2022, a lot of dust has been raised about the new lineup of the Kolkata Knight Riders team that will face the opponents in the most important Indian cricket event of the year.

If you’re a passionate KKR fan and bettor, you can take advantage of the best match odds in the country by playing on 10CRIC. Keep scrolling to learn more about how the team fared in the IPL 2022 auction, its new and retained players, biggest rivals, and more.

KKR IPL 2022 Auction

The eagerly awaited IPL 2022 auction held on February 12th and 13th saw Kolkata Knight Riders make a considerable change in their lineup. The KKR auction 2022 began with the team retaining four players — Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russel, and Venkatesh Iyer for a total of 42 crores.

The team also brought back another five of its former players during the auction and bought 16 new ones. KKR’s first purchase was Shreyas Iver, a 27-year-old Indian batsman now appointed team captain. The player was KKR’s most expensive purchase of the season, amounting to 12.25 crores.

Most of the remainder of the team’s 90-crore budget was invested in two players. Nitish Rana, a left-handed batsman and spin bowler, cost 8 crores, whereas the most expensive foreign player was Pat Cummins — 7.25 crores.

KKR IPL auction 2022 ended with the team acquiring a total of 10 capped players and 11 uncapped players. The new team now consists of six batsmen, ten all-rounders, three wicket-keepers, one spin-bowler, and four pace-bowlers.

Join Now Bet Now

KKR Final Squad for IPL 2022

Knight Riders will enter the 15th IPL championship with strong leadership from Shreyas Iyer. This top-order batsman has considerable experience playing both domestic and international cricket. The new KKR captain 2022 has participated in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in 2014 and played for the Indian national team in test cricket, One Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals.

The KKR team 2022 will also benefit from the return of Patrick Cummins, a 28-year-old all-rounder from Australia and the captain of this country’s national team in test cricket. During his career of more than a decade, Cummings has proven himself to be an excellent fast bowler and a skilful right-handed batter.

In addition to the Australian KKR batsman, the team also features two other anchors — Nitish Rana and Ajinkya Rahane. However, the KKR squad 2022 now lacks a strong wicket-keeper. The positions went to Sam Billings and two uncapped players — Baba Indrajith and Sheldon Jackson.

Another weak point for the team is the lack of experienced lower-middle-order batsmen. Likely, this position will go to either Sheldon Jackson or Rinku Singh.

On the other hand, Knight Riders boast an excellent group of all-rounders who can serve both as batsmen and pace-bowlers, such as Tim Southee and Chamika Karunaratne. However, the lineup is short on the spin bowlers, with the main players Varun Chakravarthy and Sunil Narine having only two colleagues to back them up.

The full list of KKR players 2022 includes:


  • Shreyas Iyer


  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Rinku Singh
  • Alex Hales
  • Abhijeet Tomar
  • Pratham Singh
  • Ramesh Kumar


  • Nitish Rana
  • Andre Russell
  • Sunil Narine
  • Pat Cummins
  • Venkatesh Iyer
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Aman Khan
  • Anukul Roy
  • Shivam Mavi
  • Chamika Karunaratne


  • Sheldon Jackson
  • Baba Indrajith
  • Sam Billings


  • Varun Chakravarthy


  • Umesh Yadav
  • Tim Southee
  • Rasikh Dar
  • Ashok Sharma

Which Are KKR’s Biggest Rivals?

Some of the biggest KKR rivalries have included Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians, followed closely by Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Up until 2017, both Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians had two IPL champion titles under their belts. This strengthened their rivalry, which lost no intensity even though the Indians eventually went on to win three more titles.

The KKR vs MI rivalry began in 2008 when the two teams met in the first IPL. Both matches resulted in a MI triumph, a feat the team managed to pull off again the following year. However, the tables turned in 2010 when KKR won their first IPL match against the Indians.

The contenders have since met multiple times, with most matches playing out in the Indians’ favour. Despite that, clashes between the two teams remain among some of the most heated cricket events in the country.

Royal Challengers Bangalore are the oldest Knight Riders’ rivals in the Indian Premier League. The teams played each other in the IPL’s inaugural match, which saw KKR sweeping the Bangalore squad.

The RCB vs KKR friction was still going strong in 2012, 2015, 2017, and 2019 championships as the teams locked horns with changeable game outcomes. Overall, both teams have held up well against each other, making the rivalry much more exciting.

The next notable KKR rival is another Indian East Coast team — the Chennai Super Kings. The CSK vs KKR battle would be interesting to witness in the 2022 IPL. Both teams are hugely popular and have raised interest around the world. In addition to the Mumbai Indians, they are the only other teams that have won IPL more than once.

Another IPL team Knight Riders have frequently opposed the Sunrisers Hyderabad. We’ve seen SRH vs KKR in 20 IPL matches. So far, KKR has been the more successful contender with a total of 13 victories. It would be nice to see if SRH gets a chance to tip the scales in their favour in the upcoming championship.

Live Betting on KKR Games on 10CRIC

Kolkata Knight Riders demonstrated considerable strength and quality when they won IPL in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. However, after the batsman left in 2018, the team’s performance rate dropped.

The Knight Riders haven’t made many notable appearances in the last two seasons, so KKR betting on a positive outcome didn’t result in a lot of winnings. Nonetheless, the 2022 IPL auction changed a lot in the team’s setup.

Patrick Cummins as an all-rounder and Shreyas Iyer as a promising new captain may bring the team back to its former glory. However, there are still a few holes in the squad, most notably in the spin-bowler department, making any predictions uncertain.

If you have been closely following the team and have any predictions of your own, then IPL betting 2022 may just bring you some luck in the upcoming period. Whatever your betting needs and preferences, make sure to choose 10CRIC online betting as we offer the best odds on any cricket game in the country.

On top of that, we have the best selection of events and betting options and support live cricket betting for an added thrill as the events unfold.

Join Now Bet Now

Bonus Code:

200% bonus up to ₹20,000 and Free Spins upon 1st Deposit


How to use it:


Log into your 10CRIC account


Deposit at least ₹1,000 using the bonus code


Get a 200% up to ₹20,000 Bonus and 10 Free Spins on 10CRIC Wild Wickets

Minimum deposit


10% Extra bonus

Upon deposit of ₹10,000 or more

Eligible users

no real-money deposit yet

Offer is available

Once per customer

Join Now
See all Terms and Conditions here